Crowie Wins Again!

Crowie Wins Kona 2009

Proving once again that he can run down anyone, Crowie smoked the field in the marathon to win the 2009 Ford Ironman World Championships with a time of 8:20:21. Crowie came out of T2 in 10th place and more than 12 minutes behind the leader Chris Lieto. Digging deep and throwing down at 2:48 marathon, Crowie chased down such stars as Normann Stadler and Chris McCormack, broke away from Andreas Raelert at the Energy Lab, and passed Chris Lieto at mile 21 to go on to victory. The conditions were tough – hotter than hell and not a breeze to be found. It was an outstanding race – congratulations to all competitors!